The Latest

Rimington Trophy Watch List announced

The Rimington Trophy watch list for the 2011 season has been announced, with 42 players making the preseason list.

Here is the full list, and here is the press release from the Rimington Trophy’s official website.

UPDATE (July 14, 2011): Official watch list as of July 14, 2011.

Here is a breakdown by conference of the players on the list.

ACC (4)

  • Dalton Freeman, Clemson
  • Cam Holland, North Carolina
  • Tyler Horn, Miami (Fla.)
  • Brian Moore, Duke

Big 12 (3)

  • Philip Blake, Baylor
  • Grant Garner, Oklahoma State
  • Jeremiah Hatch, Kansas

Big East (2)

  • Mario Benavides, Louisville
  • Joe Madsen, West Virginia

Big Ten (6)

  • Mike Brewster, Ohio State
  • Ben Burkett, Northwestern
  • Mike Caputo, Nebraska
  • James Ferentz, Iowa
  • Peter Konz, Wisconsin
  • David Molk, Michigan

Conference USA (4)

  • Eloy Atkinson, UTEP
  • Trent Dupy, Tulsa
  • Blaine McJunkin, SMU
  • Darion Smith, UAB

Independents (2)

  • Terence Brown, BYU
  • Braxton Cave, Notre Dame

MAC (4)

  • Chris Anzevino, Kent State
  • Ben Bojicic, Bowling Green
  • Kevin Galeher, Western Michigan
  • Scott Wedige, Northern Illinois

Mountain West Conference (4)

  • Thomas Byrd, Boise State
  • Nick Carlson, Wyoming
  • Dillon Farrell, New Mexico
  • Weston Richburg, Colorado State

PAC 12 (3)

  • Garth Gerhart, Arizona State
  • Grant Johnson, Oregon State
  • Kai Maiava, UCLA

SEC (7)

  • A.J. Hawkins, Ole Miss
  • T.J. Johnson, South Carolina
  • Ben Jones, Georgia
  • P.J. Lonergan, LSU
  • Matt Smith, Kentucky
  • Travis Swanson, Arkansas
  • William Vlachos, Alabama

Sun Belt Conference (2)

  • Colin Boss, Middle Tennessee State
  • Tom Castilaw, Arkansas State

WAC (1)

  • Tyler Larsen, Utah State

About the Author

Kevin McGuire
Contributor to College Football Talk on Also a contributor to Athlon Sports and The Comeback. Member of Football Writers Association of America and National Football Foundation. Follow on Twitter @KevinOnCFB.