The Latest

This Day in College Football History: Tim Tebow, Florida Win BCS Championship vs. Sam Bradford, Oklahoma

You may have heard of this guy. USA Today photo.

This day in 2009

You may have heard of this guy. USA Today photo.

No. 2 Florida won its third national title by upending No. 1 Oklahoma 24-14 in the BCS National Championship in Miami. The game turned late in the second quarter with the score knotted at 7-7 when Oklahoma twice marched inside Florida’s 10-yard line but came away scoreless on both trips. With Florida clinging to a 17-14 lead, Oklahoma mounted a threatening drive that was turned away when Heisman Trophy winner Sam Bradford‘s pass was intercepted by safety Ahmad Black on Florida’s 24-yard line. Florida quarterback Tim Tebow, who would win the William V. Campbell Trophy the following season, sealed the win with a four-yard pass to wide receiver David Nelson with just over three minutes to play. Tebow was named Most Valuable Player by completing 18-of-30 passes for 231 yards with two touchdowns while adding 22 rushes for 109 yards.

This was Florida’s second BCS championship in three seasons, and the SEC’s third consecutive BCS title in the current strong of six straight.

Source: National Football Foundation

About the Author

Kevin McGuire
Contributor to College Football Talk on Also a contributor to Athlon Sports and The Comeback. Member of Football Writers Association of America and National Football Foundation. Follow on Twitter @KevinOnCFB.