The Latest

2012 Maxwell Award Watch List

Will a quarterback once again win the Maxwell Award?

The Maxwell Football Club unveiled the official watch list for the Maxwell Award today. The Maxwell Award is presented to the top player in college football. Last year Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck was honored with the top honor from the Maxwell Football Club. Luck was the first Stanford player to win the award since Jim Plunkett won the award in the 1970 season. The award has been presented to Yale’s Clinton Frank in 1937 (he also won the Heisman Trophy that season).

No school has had more Maxwell Award winners than Penn State, with seven. Notre Dame is second on the all-time list with six winners, and Navy, Ohio State and Texas are tied for third with four winners each. The award has gone to a quarterback nine straight years, starting with Eli Manning (Ole Miss) in 2003), and has gone to a quarterback all but one year since 2000, when Drew Brees (Purdue) was awarded the honor. Only Penn State running back Larry Johnson has managed to break up the quarterback dominance.


A list of past winners after the jump…

  • 2011 – Andrew Luck, Stanford
  • 2010 – Cam Newton, Auburn
  • 2009 – Colt McCoy, Texas
  • 2008 – Tim Tebow, Florida
  • 2007 – Tim Tebow, Florida
  • 2006 – Brady Quinn, Notre Dame
  • 2005 – Vince Young, Texas
  • 2004 – Jason White, Oklahoma
  • 2003 – Eli Manning, Ole Miss
  • 2002 – Larry Johnson, Penn State
  • 2001 – Ken Dorsey, Miami
  • 2000 – Drew Brees, Purdue
  • 1999 – Ron Dayne, Wisconsin
  • 1998 – Ricky Williams, Texas
  • 1997 – Peyton Manning, Tennessee
  • 1996 – Danny Wuerfel, Florida
  • 1995 – Eddie George, Ohio State
  • 1994 – Kerry Collins, Penn State
  • 1993 – Charlie Ward, Florida State
  • 1992 – Gino Torretta, Miami
  • 1991 – Desmond Howard, Michigan
  • 1990 – Ty Detmer, BYU

Follow No 2-Minute Warning on Twitter @No2MinWarning and Like No 2-Minute Warning on Facebook.

About the Author

Kevin McGuire
Contributor to College Football Talk on Also a contributor to Athlon Sports and The Comeback. Member of Football Writers Association of America and National Football Foundation. Follow on Twitter @KevinOnCFB.