The Latest

2012 Rimington Trophy Watch List

Alabama's Barrett Jones is among the big names on the 2012 Rimington Trophy watch list. Photo: Getty Images

Top centers in college football introduced

Alabama’s Barrett Jones is among the big names on the 2012 Rimington Trophy watch list. Photo: Getty Images

The watch list for the Rimington Trophy was released Monday. The award is presented annually to college football’s top center. The trophy is organized and managed by the Boomer Esiason Foundation and since the inception of the post-season award the foundation has credited $2 million in funds to fight cystic fibrosis.

2012 Rimington Trophy Watch List

  • Eloy Atkinson, UTEP
  • Mario Benavides, Louisville
  • Nick Carlson, Wyoming
  • Braxton Cave, Notre Dame
  • Dillon Day, Mississippi State
  • Reese Dismukes, Auburn
  • Trent Dupy, Tulsa
  • Dillon Farrell, New Mexico
  • James Ferentz, Iowa
  • Jay Finch, Georgia Tech
  • B.J. Finney, Kansas State
  • Travis Frederick, Wisconsin
  • Dalton Freeman, Clemson
  • James Fry, TCU
  • Kevin Galeher, Western Michigan
  • Hroniss Grasu, Oregon
  • Ben Habern, Oklahoma
  • Gus Handler, Colorado
  • Jonotthan Harrison, Florida
  • Khaled Holmes, USC
  • Andre Huval, Louisiana-Lafayette
  • Alec Johnson, San Diego State
  • T.J. Johnson, South Carolina
  • Barrett Jones, Alabama
  • Zac Kerin, Toledo
  • Tyler Larsen, Utah State
  • Patrick Lewis, Texas A&M
  • P.J. Lonergan, LSU
  • Macky MacPherson, Syracuse
  • Joe Madsen, West Virginia
  • Mike Marboe, Idaho
  • Will Matte, Indiana
  • Blake McJunkin, SMU
  • Andrew Miller, Virginia Tech
  • Brian Moore, Duke
  • Graham Pocic, Illinois
  • Ryan Powis, Army
  • Austin Quattrochi, Southern Mississippi
  • Jordan Rae, Central Florida
  • Weston Richburg, Colorado State
  • Sam Schwartzstein, Stanford
  • Matt Smith, Kentucky
  • Matt Stankiewitch, Penn State
  • Tevita Stevens, Utah
  • Travis Swanson, Arkansas
  • Evan Swindall, Ole Miss
  • Ryan Turnley, Pittsburgh
  • Brandon Vitabile, Northwestern
  • Stephen Warner, Louisiana Tech
  • Robert Waterman, UNLV
  • Camden Wentz, NC State

The Rimington Trophy is named after Dave Rimington, a consensus All-American center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982. Rimington was the only two-time winner of the Outland Trophy, which is awarded to the top lineman (offense and defense) in college football.

Perhaps coincidentally, the first Rimington Trophy was awarded to another Nebraska football player in 2000, with Dominic Raiola receiving the inaugural honor. Michigan is the only school to have multiple Rimington Trophy winners, with two. The Big Ten has had five winners, not including Raiola, who played for Nebraska in the Big 12 era.

Michigan’s David Molk won the award last season. Molk was drafted by the San Diego Chargers in the seventh round of the 2012 NFL Draft. Michigan allowed 18.0 sacks last season and was 13th in the nation in rushing with an average of 221.85 yards per game in 2011.

The 2012 Rimington Trophy winner will be honored at a presentation banquet in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 12, 2013.

Past Rimington Trophy Winners

  • 2011 – David Molk, Michigan
  • 2010 – Jake Kirkpatrick, TCU
  • 2009 – Maurkice Pouncey, Florida
  • 2008 – A.Q. Shipley, Penn State
  • 2007 – Jonathan Luigis, Arkansas
  • 2006 – Dan Mozes, West Virginia
  • 2005 – Greg Eslinger, Minnesota
  • 2004 (tie) – David Baas, Michigan; Ben Wilkerson, LSU
  • 2003 – Jake Glove, Virginia Tech
  • 2002 – Brett Romberg, Miami
  • 2001 – LeCharles Bentley, Ohio State
  • 2000 – Dominic Raiola, Nebraska

Follow No 2-Minute Warning on Twitter @No2MinWarning and Like No 2-Minute Warning on Facebook.

About the Author

Kevin McGuire
Contributor to College Football Talk on Also a contributor to Athlon Sports and The Comeback. Member of Football Writers Association of America and National Football Foundation. Follow on Twitter @KevinOnCFB.
Sort: Newest | Oldest